Fresh Starts for Spring

I spent some time planting this weekend. The weekend weather was mild and beautiful, and it was a perfect time to grab some starter herbs and vegetables and poke them into planters filled with potting soil. I love to play in the dirt just as much as I did when I was a little girl.

SONY DSCToday, I started organic mint and basil plants in pots and a big container of special heirloom tomatoes called Arkansas Travelers, which the man at the farmers’ market in Fayetteville told me were the “famous Arkansas pink tomatoes.” I planted it all while daydreaming about fresh, homemade pesto and mojitos.  (Mmmmm…)

 

I also spent a little time in the flower garden poking petunias into the ground by the dozen. I love that they “creep” as they grow, spreading blooms like a blanket across the ground.

Tonight, after a little rain, I snapped some photos of the petunias. I love the bright, happy colors, and I love the promise that there will be more and more as the season goes on.

 

SONY DSC

I spent a lot of time digging in the dirt on my hands and knees, which left me lots of time to give some thought about what else I might plant… for myself. I have a few strong cravings in my life right now, and I’m giving real thought to how to feed them.

My thinking is this – I need to plant a handful of simple things in my life, like:

  • Some seeds of bravery, refusing to shy away from new things that might seem scary.
  • A spirit of surrender, trusting God with my plans and my future.
  • A focus on healthy self-care – approaching everything I do from the perspective of taking care of myself physically, spiritually and emotionally.

I want change for the better, and I want to see bright, beautiful new things spring up as a result!  Who’s joining me?

SONY DSC

Bright and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

